Libraries Home: Bachelor of Science in Nursing: Articles

Search

Why databases?

Searching within databases can be more time consuming than using the search above, but there are advantages to this research strategy:

Databases are usually limited by academic discipline, which means you'll retrieve fewer results but they may be more relevant.
Databases are highly structured, which means you can perform complex searches using controlled vocabulary.

The following databases are useful for finding articles related to education. If you are comfortable doing complicated searches, try a database to see what resources come up.

Databases

CINAHL Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL® with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 610 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. Full-text coverage dates back to 1981.
AHFS Consumer Medication Information This link opens in a new window
AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers and has been a Top Ten Award Winner in the Department of Health and Human Services National Consumer Education Materials Contest. This content is updated monthly.
MedLine This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of full-text journals and offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.