Skip to Main Content
library home page

Indigenous Resources Guide

Welcome! This guide has been created as a way to highlight resources that will help Aurora College students and staff explore topics surrounding Indigeneity, decolonization, and reconciliation. The resources included within this guide are a sample of what is available through the Aurora College library and other sources. For more information, please contact the Aurora College Libraries team and we would be happy to connect you with further resources.

This guide is currently undergoing consultation and as such, is a draft at this time.

Land Acknowledgement

We respectfully acknowledge that Aurora College is situated on the traditional territories and homeland of the Dene, Inuvialuit, Métis and Cree peoples of the Northwest Territories. We are grateful to the many Indigenous peoples of the NWT for allowing us the opportunity to learn, work and live on their lands. We are also deeply grateful for the generous sharing of Indigenous Knowledge, wisdom and ways of knowing, being, doing and believing with our students and employees.

Search

In the Library - Books

Truth and Reconciliation in Canadian Schools

Yellowknife/North Slave Campus Library

Canada's Residential Schools: the History, Part 1, Origins To 1939

6 volume collection - Available at all 3 campuses

Power Through Testimony

Aurora Campus Library

Ensouling Our Schools

eBook (Available at all 3 campuses)

Intimate Integration: A History of the Sixties Scoop and the Colonization of Indigenous Kinship

eBook (Available at all 3 campuses)
Print available at Aurora Campus and Yellowknife/North Slave Campus Libraries

Indigenous Research of Land, Self, and Spirit

eBook (Available at all 3 campuses)

The Education of Augie Merasty

Aurora Campus Library
Thebacha Campus Library

Wayi Wah! Indigenous Pedagogies

eBook & Print available at all 3 campuses

Online Library Resources

Through the Aurora College Library, you can access a multitude of full text journals through our databases, which can be found on the A-Z Database List.

Please note: navigating to these resources will limit your search to the specific database/journal you have selected. To search our entire collection, please use the search bar above.

  • Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (Database)
    • This database covers a wide variety of aspects of Indigenous North American culture, history, and life. Covering topics such as archaeology, governance, literacy, and much more, this database contains 141,000 citations for books, essays, and journal articles. 
  • Accessible through Academic Search Complete
    • AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples
    • International Journal of Indigenous Health
  • Accessible through Education Source Complete
    • Australian Journal of Indigenous Education
    • Canadian Journal of Native Education (2006-2018)
    • Canadian Journal of Native Studies
    • Native Studies Review (1993-2016)

In the Library - DVDs & Online Videos

There are an abundance of DVDs and online videos available through the Aurora College Library, both in our collection, and available through our Kanopy subscription. DVDs that are not available at your local campus may be obtained through our Interlibrary Loan service.

DVDs:

  • Crazywater (2014) - Available at all 3 campuses
  • We Were Children (2012) - Available at all 3 campuses
  • Indian Horse (2018) - Available at Thebacha and Yellowknife/North Slave campuses
  • Highway of Tears (2014) - Available at Yellowknife/North Slave campus

Kanopy: