Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Services: Locations

About us

Aurora College has a full-service library at each of the three campuses in Fort Smith, Yellowknife and Inuvik, and at the Aurora Research Institute (ARI) in Inuvik. Library staff support students, faculty and staff with a full range of information and research services, including library orientation and research classes and interlibrary loan. Library collections across the three campuses include more than 25,000 books, journals, DVDs, and federal and territorial government publications. Aurora College Libraries also provide online access to full-text journal article databases, e-books, e-journals and other online resources. These e-resources are licensed for student, staff and in-library use, and are available from any computer within the College network, with off-site access via user authentication. All four libraries’ print and electronic collections include a Northern and Indigenous focus; and the ARI library collection focuses on northern research. All four libraries provide comfortable spaces for both group and independent study

Aurora Campus Library - Inuvik

Regular Hours:

Monday to Thursday: 8:30 am to 9:00 pm, closed 12:00 to 1:00 pm

Friday: 8:30 am to 12:00 pm,  1:00 pm to 5:00 pm

Saturday: CLOSED

Sunday: 4:00 pm to 9:00 pm

Summer Hours:

Monday to Friday: 8:30 am to 12:00pm, 1:00 pm to 5:00 pm

Street Address

#87 Gwich'in Road

Mailing Address:

Aurora Campus Library
PO Box 1008
Inuvik, NT
X0E 
0T0

Email:  inlibrary@auroracollege.nt.ca

 

 

 

Contact information:

Melanie Adams

Librarian & Student Success Coordinator           Email: melanie.adams@auroracollege.nt.ca        Phone: (867) 777-7814

 

 

Aurora Campus New Resources

Thebacha Campus Library - Fort Smith

Regular Hours:

Monday to Thursday: 8:30 am to 9:00pm

Friday: 8:30 am to 5:00 pm

Saturday: 1:00 pm to 5:00 pm

Sunday: 1:00 pm to 9:00 pm

Summer Hours:

Monday to Friday: 8:30 am to 12:00 pm and 1:00 pm to 5:00 pm

Street Address

#50 Conibear Crescent

Mailing Address:

Aurora College                     Thebacha Campus Library
PO Bag Service #2
Fort Smith, NT
X0E 0P0

E-mailtclibrary@auroracollege.nt.ca

 

 

 

Contact Information:

Alexandra Hook
College Librarian                                             
P: (867) 872-7544     E:ahook@auroracollege.nt.ca

Margo Harney
Library Technician                                            
P: (867) 872-7549 E:mharney@auroracollege.nt.ca 

Thebacha New Resources

Yellowknife/North Slave Campus Library

Regular Hours:

Monday to Thursday: 8:30am to 10:00pm

Friday: 8:30 am to 5:00 pm

Saturday: 1:00 pm to 5:00 pm

Sunday: 2:00 pm to 9:00 pm

Summer Hours:

Monday to Friday: 8:30 am to 5:00 pm

Street Address: 

5004 - 54 Street (Northern United Place), Yellowknife, NT

Mailing Address:

Aurora College
Yellowknife Campus Library
Bag Service 9700
Yellowknife, NT
X1A 2R3

Phone:(867) 920-3012

E-mailyklibrary@auroracollege.nt.ca

Contact Information

Anne Walsh
Campus Librarian & Manager                            
P: (867) 920-3012  E: awalsh@auroracollege.nt.ca

Alessandra Waddell
Library Technician                                           
P: (867) 920-3017                                          E: awaddell@auroracollege.nt.ca

Yellowknife Campus New Resources

The Handmaid's Tale: The Graphic Novel

On the Brink of Everything

Thank You for Disrupting

Braiding Sweetgrass

Aurora Research Institute Library

The Aurora Research Institute Library is a valuable northern information source and is the product of almost four decades of gradual development. Initially, the collection began as the professional records of the Inuvik Scientific Resource Centre and consisted of working documents generated by the staff, whatever reference material they compiled or materials donated by southern scientists working seasonally in the Northwest Territories. With a central focus on the physical, biological and social sciences, careful attention to the collection has ensured that materials such as government reports, accounts of arctic issues, early oil and gas related documents, and other low volume publications involving or important to the Northwest Territories and Mackenzie Valley have been saved.

Today the library serves the Northwest Territories as a valuable resource with a modern catalogue system, Internet access and over 21,000 catalogued items (books, print material, videos, DVDs, films and maps) in the collection. The library also continues as a public access facility, assisting communities, students, schools, aboriginal organizations, visiting scientists and government agencies, access the information they require from a central location in the North.

Please note that due to the rareness of many of the publications, they must be used at the library premises in Inuvik but more common, general material can be checked out or made available through interlibrary loans. We have joined with the NWT Public Library Services and the NWT Legislative Library to bring you access to all of our library collections through a single system. 

Regular Hours:

Monday to Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., and closed over lunch (12:00 p.m. to 1:00 p.m.).

General questions regarding the operations of the library and its collection may be addressed to:

Library Services Coordinator
Aurora Research Institute
Phone: (867) 777-3298 Ext. 207
Fax: (867) 777-4264
e-mail: library@nwtresearch.com

Visit our website: http://nwtresearch.com/resources/library