Bachelor of Education Program
A guide to general information and resources in the field of education
Reconciliation
- First Nations Education Steering Committee | Indian Residential Schools and Reconciliation The Indian Residential Schools and Reconciliation Teacher Resource Guides for grades 5, 10 and 11/12 were developed by the First Nations Education Steering Committee and the First Nations Schools Association.
- Project of Heart Resources Project of Heart” is an inquiry based, hands-on, collaborative, inter-generational, artistic journey of seeking truth about the history of Aboriginal people in Canada.
In the wake of the findings of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, more children's book are being published which address and respond to the atrocities of the Indian Residential School System in Canada. Many of the books on this list are written by survivors, and speak to the authors' own experiences of residential school. All of the books listed below can be found on Aurora College Library shelves.
Residential schools : with the words and images of survivors by Call Number: E 96.5 .L69ISBN: 9780993937101Publication Date: 2014
As Long As the Rivers Flow by Call Number: E 99.C88 .L69ISBN: 0888994737Publication Date: 2003-02-18
Shin-Chi's Canoe by Call Number: PS 8605 .A54 .S55 JUVISBN: 9780888998576Publication Date: 2008-12-02
I Am Not a Number by Call Number: PS 8607 .U68 .I2 JUVISBN: 9781927583944Publication Date: 2016-10-04
Residential School Bibliographies
These bibliographies offer curated lists of materials which address the reality of the Indian Residential Schools. Many include additional resources for teaching or encouraging discussion at home.
- 10 Books about residential school to read with your kidsStories that can open up 'space for conversation' with children, says educator
- Aboriginal Healing Foundation Reading ListThe following reading list is a selection of the growing number of publications that document the history and legacy of residential schools.
- Orange Shirt Day Reading ListA list of books to raise awareness about the residential school system.
- Seattle Public LibraryChildren's picture books, first fiction, novels and informational titles tell the story of residential school experiences in Canada.
- University of Alberta residential school teacher resourcesIncludes lesson plans, films and documentaries, study guides and other resources for K-12
- University of Toronto - Residential School curriculum resourcesA list of fiction, non-fiction, films, links and video clips.
Indigenous Education Resources
- Aboriginal Mathematics K-12 Network The Aboriginal Mathematics K-12 Network brings teachers, students, parents, administrators and academics together to explore and imagine ways of improving mathematics education for Aboriginal learners.
- Alaska Native Knowledge Network: Curriculum Resources The curriculum resources included here have been selected to illustrate ways in which Indigenous and Western knowledge systems can be brought to bear in schools through a balanced, comprehensive and culturally-aligned curriculum framework adaptable to local circumstances.
- Assembly of First Nations | It's Our Time First Nations Tool Kit The Assembly of First Nations has developed the It's Our Time First Nations Tool Kit as the basis of a comprehensive strategy to reach out to First Nations students, teachers, schools, communities and the Canadian public at large.
- Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada - Kids' Stop Find activities, games and stories for youth and educators about Indigenous peoples' culture, history and languages.
- Deepening Knowledge: Resources For and About Indigenous Education This database provides information about the history and perspectives of First Nations, Métis and Inuit and Native American cultures; information related to the issues of pressing concern to Indigenous peoples and their communities today; as well as curricula for teachers to incorporate this into teaching practice.
- Math Catcher : Mathematics through Aboriginal Storytelling Math Catcher introduces mathematics and science to Aboriginal students through the use of First Nations imagery and storytelling.
- University of Toronto | Infusing Indigenous Perspectives in K-12 Teaching Welcome to the research guide for Indigenous education. This guide is designed to help Initial Teacher Education students find Indigenous education resources.
Databases
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 141,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.